Author Topic: Dumb question about resistors in series/parallel  (Read 7001 times)

Offline TheN00bTopic starter

• Contributor
Dumb question about resistors in series/parallel
« on: May 02, 2018, 12:56:58 am »
Hey folks. Just joined EEVBlog's forum, but I've been a big time viewer for 2 years. I'm somewhat new to the world of electronics (just picked up my first oscilloscope 2 months ago!) and I am barely a hobbyist; just a guy who likes sticking probes in places they probably shouldn't be to find out how things work!

With that out of the way, we're learning about circuits in high-school physics right now (so no doctoral dissertations please!). One thing I cannot understand, is resistors in series/parallel. When we find the amperage through a resistor, whether it be the 2nd or 3rd resistor in the series, we always use the source voltage divided by the resistance of the resistor. Maybe I don't understand how resistors work, but shouldn't we subtract the calculated voltage drop of the resistors before them from the source, and then use that for our voltage?

Let me know if I can provide any more information. Thanks in advance folks!

Offline spitta

Re: Dumb question about resistors in series/parallel
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2018, 02:16:54 am »
The current through a series circuit will be the same through every resistor.

If you are taking the source voltage divided by a single resistor to find current in a SERIES circuit, you're doing it wrong. The current should be the source voltage divided by the sum of all the resistances.
This technique, however, would work to find currents for each branch of a PARALLEL circuit.

I recommend watching some youtube videos on series parallel circuits to get the ball rolling...

The following users thanked this post: TheN00b

Offline IanB

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2018, 02:28:23 am »