Author Topic: Determining RGBS Sync Levels  (Read 661 times)

Offline Cj1Topic starter

• Contributor
Determining RGBS Sync Levels
« on: May 26, 2024, 09:29:07 pm »
I have an old LCD display (Toyota MFD) with an RGB input that i am trying to use as a monitor. I tried connecting a standard 75ohm RGBS signal to it but it did not sync, which makes me think the sync is non standard on this particular monitor.

I bought a cheap scope and connected it to the sync line with a GPS device that i know will display a picture when connected to the monitor. However i am not quite sure how to interpret the results as i have never used a scope before.

Here is a quick video, it looks like it stats at 0.7vpp and drops off or something. Am i doing this right?: https://imgur.com/a/VVNCdAb

Offline Benta

• Super Contributor
Re: Determining RGBS Sync Levels
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2024, 10:20:07 pm »
Your terminology is imprecise.
What do you mean by RGBS? Is it four different signals/wires? In that case they're probably TTL level.
Or do you mean CVBS (one wire)? In that case it's normally 1 VPP.

Offline Cj1Topic starter

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2024, 02:03:40 am »
Your terminology is imprecise.
What do you mean by RGBS? Is it four different signals/wires? In that case they're probably TTL level.
Or do you mean CVBS (one wire)? In that case it's normally 1 VPP.

Yes, its is four different wires: red, green, blue & sync. I tried to use TTL sync, and it almost looks like it worked but not quite, as the picture was still rolling. It makes me think the signal is nonstandard but probably TTL like you suggested:

https://imgur.com/a/CrF3EcP

How would i measure to find the correct sync?

Offline Terry Bites

• Super Contributor
  • Recovering Electrical Engineer
« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2024, 05:42:27 pm »
Learn to use the trigger control and single shot on your scope.
Your scope shows a  0.55Vpp signal and thats too low for most monitors