Author Topic: current sense chip: will it work?  (Read 951 times)

Offline skeeterweazelTopic starter

current sense chip: will it work?
« on: September 18, 2024, 02:07:44 am »
Hello. Newbie here. Have some questions i'm hoping you can help me with.
And feel free to suggest better ways to do this.
I'm helping some retired guys who are building a big outdoor railroad. My current project is figuring out how to sense when a train is in a certain section of track or "block". These are large trains. We expect them to draw about 10 amps and 32 volts. I'm hoping i can sense the first amp as my "trigger."
I want to try and go the route of using a shunt and a comparator ( or 2 or 3). I've come across mentions of a Texas Instruments chip that sounded good, then stumbled across another that sounds better.
I'm looking at the ina250. Biggest plus i'm seeing is that it has a built-in shunt. But i don't understand the datasheet enough to know if it will work for me; things like offset voltage.
https://www.ti.com/product/INA250
I've never played with a comparator or op-amp. I'm of the understanding that the output is either high or low, that it can be used as a trigger, in this case i want to connect it to an arduino to trigger signal lights.
The INA303 has more functions, like alerts, but i don't know if i need those. And it doesn't have a built-in shunt.
So, that's where i'm at. Hoping someone that is knowledgeable can check out the data sheet and let me know if it will/will not work.
Thanks for any info you can send my way.
Marty

Online ataradov

• Super Contributor
    • Personal site
Re: current sense chip: will it work?
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2024, 03:18:57 am »
If you just need to sense the presence of the current / train, then you don't need to worry about offset voltages, it will be fine. You need to worry about them if you plan to digitize that voltage and need an accurate absolute current measurement.