Author Topic: Considering a soldering station (Hakko FX888/888D?)  (Read 31415 times)

Offline eilize

• Contributor
Re: Considering a soldering station (Hakko FX888/888D?)
« Reply #25 on: August 18, 2015, 08:45:13 pm »
"Hakko FX800D (€ 183/US$ 200) local online purchase"

something wrong there.
you say you take the batterfly price,

but with 25%vat + 28,80€shipping, your fx888d  'll cost 154euro
they sell it at 98euro atm
your vat is base on the 98euro, not on the full price

and if you buy something else, the shipping stay the same(good reason to buy some tip, lead and so on)

i'm not a pro hakko, i've one (i prefer pace...not the same kind of price ^^), but it's the reason, i've buy one
for the same quality you need to spend 50-100euro more

and as hobbyist, you 'll need only to buy somle tip..
you don't use it too much ,not a reason to broke it  before years

Offline tooki

• Super Contributor
« Reply #26 on: August 18, 2015, 10:08:40 pm »
Sure, Amazon.de is an option as well, but I ended up with a totally different cost of € 212 from them (I went through the whole ordering process before actually paying), and that's without the taxes (25%) and import duties to be paid when I receive the package here.

OK, so I just tried it myself, choosing the address for some hotel in Oslo. I also got the €212, but it's composed of about €21 express shipping and €42 import duty (remember, that's composed primarily of VAT) deposit. This means you will NOT have to pay anything more on receipt. (That's the whole point of the AmazonGlobal program.) In fact, if the actual duty exceeds the deposit Amazon collects, they pay for it. (And if the actual duty is less than the deposit, you'll receive a refund in a month or two! I got €15 back on my Nano!!)

So your maximum price via Amazon is €212, and it may end up being less!!

Offline analogixTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #27 on: August 18, 2015, 10:23:21 pm »