Author Topic: Complete noob question from not a noob. - Measuring Mains AC with Oscilloscope  (Read 14876 times)

Offline Kyrad777Topic starter

• Contributor
Hey everyone!  I just moved up from a standard multimeter to a Siglent SHS806.  ( For those wondering why I chose this, I got it new for next to nothing.)  I want to verify my head is straight concerning a couple of things lest I release the magic fireworks. 

Anyway, here is the question I cannot find a straight answer to. 

I need to measure mains voltage ( and sine wave quality - Oscilloscope noob terminology ) over time, hence needing the oscilloscope.  I'm hitting a wall verifying that pushing 110 AC ( yes, A Yank-ette from the USA here ) through the X10 probe included won't release the magic smoke, or the magic firecracker.

I'm hesitating because:

1. The probe seems a little small.  It says its rated at 300V ( 1X ) and  600V ( 10X ) but honestly the cable seems a little thin to me.  Its obviously not carrying a huge load, but it just seems like it should be a larger diameter for ( american ) mains.

2.  I am not finding anywhere in software where I can manually set the range to 150VAC.  I'd hate to set to auto and hear ...POP!

3.   In the Meter mode, it has a maximum measure scale displayed of 6 volts.   ( not the oscilloscope mode obviously ).

So these are my Oscilli-Noob questions.  I did search the forum, but I think I may lack the specific terminology to search correctly, and it might be this particular unit's documentation may be confusing.

- Am I paranoid about this?  The Oscilloscope inputs say 300V CAT II, so it seems like this should be fine.

- If not, do I need to use a dedicated probe to accomplish this safely?  I planned on using the probe in X10 mode, and only for about 5 minutes max. I am familiar with electrical safety so electrocution hazard is not an issue.