Author Topic: Canon camera li-on charger to charge 18650 batteries?  (Read 9100 times)

Offline ChauTopic starter

Canon camera li-on charger to charge 18650 batteries?
« on: October 25, 2013, 04:56:23 pm »
Hi, this is my first post here, but I'm a long time subscriber to Dave Jones's youtube channel and I've seen his video on li-on battery charging before posting here.

This Canon camera's battery charger is designed to charge a 3-terminal (+, - and T) li-on flat battery. It has a battery charging status light in front (no pic). My question is can I connect the (+) and (-) to the (+) and (-) on the 18650 battery to charge it?

I'm only interested in charging a single 18650 battery to be used in a flashlight. As clearly stated on the label, the output current of the charger is ony 650mA, well below a safe charging current for a 18650 battery. I'm well aware of the fire danger of overheated/short-circuited li-on battery. I'm not a total newbie when it comes to electronics but a newbie when it comes to battery charging. So, please give me a technical answer if possible of the question above. Thanks.

Online IanB

• Super Contributor
Re: Canon camera li-on charger to charge 18650 batteries?
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2013, 05:39:22 pm »
It's hard to say without having doing some detailed tests and analyzing how it works with a normal camera battery.

First of all the charger may require a good feedback signal from the third T (temperature sensor?) terminal before it will work.

Secondly, the charger may rely on some smart behavior from the battery electronics to help regulate the charging. It is possible that the charger itself does not contain all the necessary charging electronics (this is often the case in smartphone chargers).

But on the assumption that the charger is a fully integrated Li-ion charger, and that it will work if you only connect the + and - terminals to the battery, then it should be able to charge an 18650 battery successfully.