Author Topic: Calculate current through zener  (Read 2541 times)

Offline eelTopic starter

Calculate current through zener
« on: March 26, 2022, 09:09:52 am »
Hi all, forgive me if this is really obvious. I have never used a zener before.

I am building a circuit to drive a fuel injector. Previously I have used mosfets with suitable avalanche characteristics but it is hard to find them now with shortages.

So I am looking at clamps to allow a larger selection of fets to be used.

Based off Reply #14 in this thread https://www.eevblog.com/forum/projects/is-this-mosfet-driver-circuit-ok/, I've drawn a quick schematic (attached below) but am not sure how to calculate current through the zener to select the appropriate part?

Thanks

Offline CMTan

• Contributor
Re: Calculate current through zener
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2022, 10:25:48 am »
What is the zener diode for?
I don't think you need it.

What you need are
1.  A diode across the coil (fuel injector) - route the self induced voltage
     Cathode to +Vcc, anode to  drain of the NMOS
2.  MCU drive to the gate must be push-pull drive with sufficient voltage (greater than the VT of the NMOS)
     meaning if your MCU can only drive up to 3.3V, then the VT (VGS) should be must less than 3.3V, say not more than 2.5V

Offline MarkF

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2022, 10:26:40 am »
First, your link is bad.
   https://www.eevblog.com/forum/projects/is-this-mosfet-driver-circuit-ok/msg2870144/#msg2870144

As to your question, the current through the zener would be its reverse voltage divided by its internal impedance.  For the 1N5369B mentioned the voltage is 51V and the impedance is 27Ω which would be I = V / R = 51V / 27Ω = 1.8A

The following users thanked this post: RJSV

Online xavier60

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2022, 10:30:26 am »
The Zener current will initially be what ever the inductor current was at the time the MOSFET switched off. It will then ramp down to zero.