Author Topic: Buying A Power Analyzer Meter  (Read 9748 times)

Offline Ben YisraelTopic starter

Buying A Power Analyzer Meter
« on: September 21, 2010, 07:27:50 pm »
Hello Everyone and Shalom !

Sorry if I'm wordy, this is my first 'chat'

I am trying to start a "Green Energy" (read that 'save you power bill money') type company. I am a builder by trade, and my dad worked in Electronic Design & Repair, so I know a little about Energy and Power -- but not much.

I formed a co-op with an Electrician, HVAC Contractor and Electrical Engineering guy from the local Community College, so please see I am serious about my new Business direction.

We sell Power Factor Correction capacitance type products, along with TVSS protection, and Energy Efficient Lighting (Elec ballast Flourescent, LED, etc)..

SO here's the question : I have a True RMS Power Analyzing Clamp meter from Extech (around $ 650.oo)
After I started using it to get kVar readings, I see why they make multiple lead Data Logging meters, but they cost from $ 2100 (Extech) up to $ 5000 (Fluke, Amprobe, etc).

I found a Uni-Trend Power Analyzer (with comp interface) for around $ 200.oo which seemed too good to be true. So I searched for reviews and that is how I found this site.

It seemed Dave liked Unit-Trend in his EEVBlog # 99 " $100 MultiMeter Shootout"

Here is the address for the tool, could someone comment on what they think about this, Please

Unitrend Meter : http://www.uni-trend.com/UT233.html

Thanx Again  :  Grace and Shalom to You All

Ben Yisrael

alm

Re: Buying A Power Analyzer Meter
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2010, 08:06:26 pm »
I would be wary about 'too good to be true' products, in my experience, there's often a catch.

I'm not into power electronics (my world is mostly <1A and <50V), but here are my two cents: