Author Topic: Bulbs connected in series. Physics doesn't add up  (Read 965 times)

Offline ElectrumpTopic starter

Bulbs connected in series. Physics doesn't add up
« on: Yesterday at 01:30:38 pm »
Dear community

I am a beginner learning the basics of electronics. Currently I read "Easy Electronics" by Charles Platt. I am making the experiments from the book to make sure I get the same results. I am on the page 9 and already have a question I cannot answer myself.
The book says when two identical components are in parallel, then the current doubles. Consequently, when two identical components are in series, they create twice as much resistance for the current and there will be half as much current. Sounds logical.
I have proved experimentally that "when two identical components are in parallel, then the current doubles" and I have no problems with that. However, something weird happens "when two identical components are in series", because they actually do not create twice as much resistance as promised. In fact, the resistance increases less than 50%!
In other words, the question is: Why is the resistance not doubled when I put two identical cmponents in series?

Below are details of the experiments, images and drawings. Although I tried to be as thorough as possible, I imagine there may be some gaps, so any relevant questions and comments are welcome.

Equipment used
DC Power Supply
2x 2.5V bulbs
2x bulb holders

Notes
For unknown reason the resistance if the same type bulbs significantly differs -  from 1.3 to 4 Ω. I selected 2 bulbs with 1.9 Ω.
Bulb holders are identical.

Experiment 1
One 2.5V bulb consumes 178mA. Verified with both bulbs.

Experiment 2
Two 2.5V bulbs in parallel consume 353mA. 176.5mA per bulb which is pretty close to the current for one bult from Experiment 1(178mA)!

Experiment 3