Author Topic: BK Precision LCR 879B meter readings wrong, or user error  (Read 12775 times)

Offline Baqar79Topic starter

BK Precision LCR 879B meter readings wrong, or user error
« on: June 02, 2011, 12:56:39 pm »
Hello there,

I'm definitely at a beginner level with my electronics (I studied it for around 3 years, but with a decade passing without using this knowledge I've pretty much forgotten all but the very basics).  I did electronics though as a hobby 20 years ago with a friend and we ended up with all bits of odds and ends (being 10 or so at the time, nothing is junk :) ).

My problem is this LCR meter that I just received a day ago (From tequipment.net; I imported it into NZ) is not giving me the expected readings for capacitors vs my Fluke 287 and I can't really figure out quite what I'm doing wrong.

I callibrated it using a copper wire short (open and closed) for each of the ranges, and relative all the results (using the included alligator clips) first before connecting the capacitors...and the results seem good at first, but the results seem to go downhill as I turn up the frequency.  The results of some unused capacitors (only purchased several months ago) are below.  The Fluke 287 (despite it's bulk) is my favourite DMM for it's accuracy with a straight up 1% + 5 digits for capacitors until you exceed 20,000uF; the callibration certificate included suggested it was dead on with the capacitor measurement (though they only used a 5nF to gauge the accuracy).

BK precision 879B readings vs Fluke 287 & BK Precision 2709B:

MKT capactors

(1nF marked)
100Hz   (2.5% + 2 digits)   1.0422nF (parallel) vs Fluke 287 @ 1.04nF and BK2709B @ 1.045nF
120Hz   (2.5% + 2 digits)   1.0419nF (parallel)
1kHz   (0.7% + 2 digits)   1.0370nF (parallel)
10kHz   (0.5% + 2 digits)   1.0260nF (parallel)