Author Topic: Beginner Question  (Read 737 times)

Offline kyleighterryTopic starter

Beginner Question
« on: September 20, 2024, 04:27:35 am »
So this may be a silly simple question, but I’m new to the nitty gritty of electronics and would appreciate if someone pointed me in the right direction to get this project going.

I’m looking to make a little art project in a picture frame. In the picture frame I want to attach a light action figure. I want to rig it to where when I press a button, a preprogrammed noise goes off and the toy moves up and down.

Any help, suggestions, name of the electronics that will be needed to make this happen would be much appreciated!

Online Bryn

• Regular Contributor
    • mindsConnected
Re: Beginner Question
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2024, 06:34:41 am »
For that, you will need the following:
  • A microcontroller (such as a Raspberry Pi), which would serve as the "brain" of your project and can be programmed for the basic things you want for it
  • A servo motor, where it is needed should you want the figure to move up and down especially if you want it move in these directions smoothly (and not slightly deviate from its path)
  • A sound module, like the DFPlayer Mini, and can easily be interfaced with the microcontroller and also play audio files stored in a microSD card (so you'll need that also if you don't have one handy)
  • Everything else such as a power supply, wired, breadboard and a simple push button for the magic to work once everything is assembled with these and other things above

By these, you should be able to start building your art project as long as you know what part connects with what, and also some programming skills for everything to work the way you want it to be.
mindsConnected
Alternate tech forum for all... we welcome engineers also!
Interesting long read: Create a 12v battery from 6v batteries

Offline brucehoult

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2024, 10:23:01 am »