Author Topic: Beginner - electronics bench  (Read 2700 times)

Offline Urshurak776Topic starter

• Contributor
Beginner - electronics bench
« on: February 16, 2020, 03:59:41 pm »
Hi all,

Brand new here.  I have always been interested and want to learn.  I have poured over YouTube and learned a lot.  I am an Engineer for HVAC equipment so have some experience.  I have tons of solder experience, building guitar amplifiers and guitar effect pedals.   I also have made headphone amplifiers.  Even some SMD soldering. 

I have bought one of those cheap DSO138 O scopes, signal generator, component testers, etc.  I have a good fluke 87V multimeter.  Still need to buy or make a power supply. 

My question is I need a bench and looking for a design to build myself.  Has anyone ever done that?  I see some on YouTube but none really appeal to me.  Anyway, if anyone has any ideas, I would love to see them. Thanks everyone.

Offline GerryR

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Beginner - electronics bench
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2020, 04:14:16 pm »
One of my benches is made from an old solid-core door that is attached to a wall in my shop.  I then constructed shelves above it to hold equipment.  An anti-static mat is on the bench for obvious reasons.  I also have another unit that I custom built to hold my ham gear and other equipment.  The following are older pictures but will perhaps give you some ideas.
Still learning; good judgment comes from experience, which comes from bad judgment!!

The following users thanked this post: bd139

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2020, 05:30:53 pm »
Great ideas.  Thanks Gerry!

Offline Gyro

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2020, 06:59:25 pm »