Author Topic: Amplifying a thermocouple (for learning)  (Read 2797 times)

Offline solderjsTopic starter

• From Soldering to JavaScript, and Beyond!
    • CoolAJ86
Amplifying a thermocouple (for learning)
« on: March 14, 2019, 09:53:13 am »
Newbie here, trying to learn.

I have multimeter that came with a thermocouple. I was curious and decided to measure it on the voltmeter setting and found that seems to change maybe 0.2mV per degree above room temperature.

Then I thought "wouldn't it be nice to be able to amplify this?" and so after watching Dave's video I went down to the engineering building of the local university and checked their vending machine for an op amp. I found an LF347N (similar to a LT074).

After much trial and error |O I was eventually able to get a capacitor with 1v charge to read 3.55v using a 5k1 as RF and a 2k as R1. This checks out (3.55 = 1 + (5.1/2)).

Then I tried replacing the 5k1 with a 10k and the 2k with a 1k expecting to be able to see something in the range of 2mv - 10mv when holding my finger to the thermocouple, but instead I saw a reading of 1.5v and it didn't seem to vary at all in relation to the temperature of the probe.

Then I smelled the magic smell and got that sinking feeling that I'm going to have to make a visit back to the vending machine.

A couple of questions: