Author Topic: Electrical connectors  (Read 1839 times)

Offline av8or1Topic starter

Electrical connectors
« on: July 29, 2014, 07:32:39 pm »
Hi-

I am a software engineer by profession but have been working on an electronics project on the side, outside the scope of the day job, for about a year now.  The final product is a hand-held diagnostic tool that receives analog input from pressure transducers.  The input is routed to a custom-designed PCB, which then displays the results on an LCD on the front face of the enclosure.  Pretty straightforward concept really.  I have my custom PCB designed and working; much of the software is written and so I am closing in on finishing the project.  The problem that I have been working on for some time now is in regard to electrical connectors.  I'm simply not liking the options that I have found during research and Google searches.  Being a fan of Dave's YouTube videos, I thought I would join the EEVblog forum and pose the question here.  The hope being that more experienced electronics types might have some input based on their own experiences.

In order to avoid a long post and yet to provide as much information as possible as stated in Dave's sticky post, allow me to summarize the three general categories of connectors in my project (or so it would seem to me).  I'm open to all feedback, and I appreciate that, though I really need the most help with items 2 and 3.