Author Topic: Toaster Reflow oven project, need a more experienced eye!  (Read 4387 times)

Offline CrabxCoreTopic starter

• Contributor
Toaster Reflow oven project, need a more experienced eye!
« on: May 29, 2014, 04:41:56 am »
Hello Everyone!

Long time viewer of Daves youtube channel. I recently joined the forums and have been lurking and replying to what I feel qualified to answer.  :blah:

Anyways, I am working on building a reflow oven from a toaster oven. It will use an arduino Mega as the main processing power. I have a "shield" designed and a pcb routed, however I am a novice at circuit design and layout. All I know I have learned mainly from experimenting and watching youtube videos. I would really appreciate it if the fellow forum members that have more experience than myself could take a look and call out all my design flaws. I am going to upload my .brd and .sch files in a .rar archieve. All these programs are freeware so everyone has the opportunity to  take a look if they would like to.

A little more about the shield:

Uses 3 K type thermocouples to sense different areas of board.
Uses 3 max31855 cold junction compensation IC's
Uses 1 max3002 for level shifting from 5v to 3v3
Has outputs for 2 Solid state relays, for independent top and bottom element control
Has 2 RBG led's for Status and quick temp check (red if above setpoint, green if within setpoint margin, blue if below setpoint)
Uses a 16 key, 4x4 matrix for input
Uses 2x16 LCD for UI

Things I would like to add in later revisions:
SD card data logging
Additional display capabilities
MatLab data generation (Very far off  :-//)

Thank you in advance for any help!
 --Crab

Can't attach .rar so here is a link on google docs:: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0Bz8gx9yr3X1qR29WWmx5cnROVTQ/edit?usp=sharing

Offline TheRuler8510

• Regular Contributor
  • RF Engineer
Re: Toaster Reflow oven project, need a more experienced eye!
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2014, 04:47:09 am »