Author Topic: Best practices to maintain a photo-strobe power pack that is used sporadically  (Read 627 times)

Offline dadler503Topic starter

I have had two strobe units for photography.  Both eventually blew capacitors.  This is (apparently) due to infrequent use and the fact (I have learned) that capacitors are tricky and need to be 'exercised'.  I suspect these are large capacitors because of this particular use.

(and a quick acknowledgment that I don't know if the beginners forum is the right place for this, but I'm a beginner here, so...)

I would like to understand better how to maintain photo-strobe-power packs that are only used occasionally.
I have tried to find this info, but it is in short-supply and inconsistent - sort of all-over-the-map; that is why I am seeking more info/perspective.  I will list some of the suggestions and advice below.

*Note - my power pack is Dynalite, which went out of business about two yrs ago - so no calling the mfg for mfg-specific best practices.

From a seller of a Dynalite pack:
“While the power pack has not been used regularly for photography recently it has been turned on and left on for 24 to 48 hours per month. This is what Dynalite told me to do in order to keep the capacitors in good condition.”

From Holly Flash, CA
Your flash likes to be exercised frequently to stay in good shape. Sitting on the shelf for long periods causes the capacitors (where the energy for the flash is stored) to degrade or, as we techies call it, ”deform”. An electrolytic capacitor is an electro-chemical system that depends on voltage being applied to it to maintain its dielectric (high voltage insulating) characteristics. Regular use keeps the internal insulation system working. The same capacitor technology is used in all flashes, big or small. To keep your flash working well and ready to serve when needed, we suggest you do the following every month or so:
1. Set the unit to full power and plug in a head.