Author Topic: Help with fluke 289 Please  (Read 11138 times)

Offline ehcaesTopic starter

• Contributor
Help with fluke 289 Please
« on: August 31, 2011, 02:45:25 pm »
Hi Im a newbie to electronics and just decided it was time to do away with my old cheap one and got this 289 off ebay apparently brand new for a good price, Funny thing is when I turn it on the meter reading on dc volts jumps up and down like a yoyo so do other settings is this normal? I would have thought it would happily sit on 0 and wait for me to take a reading, like my old cheap one. when I set it to ohms and hold the probes together and rel out on dc volts it keeps going from 1 to 0 and if i move the meter or press the screen it really starts goin up in reading to like 50 volts and back?

Confused.

Offline thilo

• Regular Contributor
Re: Help with fluke 289 Please
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2011, 03:46:33 pm »
Congratulations. Have you tested the meter on some voltages, resistors, diodes, currents, etc? For a good meter it's normal to display something else than 0 (on some ranges). I think the getting started manual from fluke explains for every measurement option what you should see on the display if everything is ok.

50 Volts with nothing connected to the probes does not sound like a healthy meter, or environment.  But for now don't worry about the display too much, test it on some known values, like batteries, lab power supply, function generator, resistors, diodes, etc. and if the readings are about what you'd expect it should be fine. And read the (getting started) manual.

Thilo.

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2011, 03:52:37 pm »
Thanks for the reply will your ideas when I said 50 volts its actually 0.00529 or something silly mistake that 2 used to reading the old cheapo I guess.

Offline thilo

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2011, 06:51:57 pm »