Author Topic: Creating PCB footprint from DXF file  (Read 983 times)

Offline 16bitanalogueTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Creating PCB footprint from DXF file
« on: June 20, 2024, 09:48:06 pm »
Hello Altium Experts,

I am stuck and I am stupid. Before I buckle and create my own footprint for a Plastronic's socket, I would like to know if this is possible. It seems so, but I am not sure on the necessary requirements/steps. I am new to Altium, so apologies for the dumb question.

I have attached the DXF file for their 5x5 20QFN. I have tried importing it both as component or primitive, but it simply looks like their own outline drawing. Can someone kindly educate me if I can use this file to create a PCB footprint that I can associate with a schematic symbol?

Offline Doctorandus_P

• Super Contributor
Re: Creating PCB footprint from DXF file
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2024, 10:54:26 pm »
I am stuck and I am stupid.

I will not hold that against you.

"Weird" parts such as these test sockets are one of the reasons that "footprint sites" such as SnapEda, PCBlibraries and UltraLibrarian have a place on the internet. Such sites usually have a database with a million or more footprints, and often they are free to download.

Such companies make money by selling footprint generator software to companies that make parts. I have not checked what such sockets cost, but I assume they are not cheap. And to be fair, here in "The West" I sort of expect the companies who make such parts to have footprints for their own parts available, or work together with at least one of the above mentioned "footprint sites". I suggest you send a mail to Plastronics directly to ask if they have footprint data for their products, and if they don't, ask if they are interested on generating that data.

You can not use such test socket footprints without a PCB, so I am quite sure the footprints already exist, somewhere...